talkingtothesky: (dalek)
[personal profile] talkingtothesky
This episode has been pretty special to me on a personal level because it's the first time my Mum and I have ever watched an episode at the same time as it airs. Granted we were in different rooms and in different houses, but it's progress. I'm proud to have been able to share this show and this experience with her. For the past few years it's been something we've been able to connect over and one of the only topics of conversation that won't lead to an argument. It's probably not about to fix our relationship, but it's making it easier for the time being and I want to thank the show for that. So thanks, show. :D

As such I haven't read the episode reaction posts yet, and what I have done is spoken to my mother. LOL. As RTD promised, she was more scared of the water-monsters ('The Flood', as they called them in the Confidential) than I was. For me, the truly terrifying part was seeing the Doctor's descent into...well, madness, I suppose. He became a vengeful god.

Before we get into the Doctor's breakdown, though. Let's talk about the fun bits! :)

Firstly, Gadget. My god, that rickety old thing was cute. And slightly disturbing, especially with all the crap you had to wear on your fingers to control it. Enjoyed the small bit of comic relief he provided, and that he got to save the day in the end, despite the saving not happening quite the way you would have wanted. I was vaguely amused by the fact that the Doctor couldn't decide whether to love him or hate him. The scene where the Doctor ramps up his speed and he and Adelaide whizz through the grounds was brilliant! <3

Other not too dark things:

- "The Doctor. Doctor. Fun!"

- The bit where Yuri (was it Yuri? I've forgotten all their names already, to my shame) was talking about his brother and brother's husband squabbling over what to get each other for Christmas made me really, really happy. Despite the fact that Anita was turning into a monster behind him. So adorable. I think they did a great job of fleshing out all the characters in the little time there was so that we could feel truly sorry for them. I found the video messages from home very touching in each of their cases.

- "Bikes! You need bikes!" "Every extra pound in weight needs another 3 tonnes of fuel." Actually, bikes as a running gag was great.

- When the Flood are on the roof, spewing water out of their mouths at a ridiculous speed. That was some fairly dodgy CGI right there. I couldn't help it, I LOLed. :P

- I know this probably qualifies as dark, but the moment where Adelaide stares down the Dalek through her window and then it flies away was bloody magical. I loved that moment so much and I'm not even sure why.

Okay. On to the Doctor stuff. Watching him stand by, unable and unwilling to help was so, so painful. I get why they're doing this, though. Seeing him like that just makes me want Matt Smith to get here faster in the hope that when he regenerates he'll be a happier person for it. I need the Doctor to be a hero and if keeping Ten means we have to watch him like this then it's just better if Eleven comes. I can't really believe I'm saying this because I love Ten so, so much, but Russell's doing a fantastic job of preparing me for the regeneration. I don't know how everyone else is feeling but I guess I'll find out when I finish writing this post.

Ten coming to the conclusion that now the Time Lords are dead he can do what he likes initially made me very happy because it chimed exactly with what everyone's been saying about the 12 regenerations rule being null and void now that the Time Lords aren't there to enforce it. But then...well. You know what happened. "Well, aren't you going to thank me?" "Don't you get it?" "The little people". I stared in horror at what he had turned into all of a sudden. All I'd wanted was for him to turn around and start saving them but when he did...it was a disaster.

Adelaide was an incredible character. When she took her gun out of the holster on the doorstep and the Doctor's back was turned I thought for a second that she might shoot him. But then when the door closed and there was a flash of blue...Well. I had a flashback to Torchwood then, and Frobisher. I thought bloody hell, they just did that on the mother show too? Phwoar. I don't know how I'd have coped with that if I'd been watching it as a little kid. That's pretty hard-hitting stuff, you know? Yes, she was doing it for the future of the human race, but for what it's worth the Doctor had just saved her. His utter failure to be able to predict how the new course of events would pan out was the most frightening thing about it, for me.

And then Ood Sigma! The ending to this did just blow me away. "Is this it?" Owowow. Mr.Tennant, sir, your acting skills, they are infinite. I salute you!

Then finally we have a trailer! And blonde!hoodie-wearing!Master? What's with that? Donna and Lucy are back, which is awesome. Just - yes.

Love you, show. Thanks for never disappointing me. ♥

Profile

talkingtothesky: (Default)
talkingtothesky

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
151617181920 21
22232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 23rd, 2026 02:27 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios